11 thoughts on “Rule question. By the “basic” wording:”

  1. Good question. Here’s my take. 

    I don’t know the ruling on multiple ongoing spells, as in, I don’t know what it takes to have multiple ongoing effects at the same time. But assuming that is possible then yeah, I’m pretty sure you can end as many as you like at the same time.

    It says, “The spell ends and you subtract its level from the damage done to you.” So that defiantly can be done after you have heard how much damage you would be taking.

    Anybody who has played along side my Human Wizard “Ovid” knows he doesn’t have a single damage producing spell, what they may not know is that he hasn’t take damage in combat, and this ability is the reason why.

  2. “You subtract its level from the damage done to you”, not “the damage about to be done to you”. So after the roll is what I think. The game generally avoids players using up resources uselessly, and that’s also the “generous” interpretation.

  3. Well, Matt Smith , it isn’t uncommon to see a Wizard with several ongoing spells on. You could have 3 or 4 summoned creatures, for example.

    That’s why I’m curious about the multiple Spell Defense.

    However, sometime English language let me unsettled. Take for example Invisibility spell: “Touch an ally: nobody can see them. They’re invisible! The spell persists until the target attacks or you dismiss the effect. While the spell is ongoing you can’t cast a spell.”

    … An ally, them, they, the target… Am I ignorant or there is some problem here?

  4. Thanks Gillian Wiseman , this is useful to know. Still, I’m curious about my 1st question. The wording of Spell Defence is: “You may end any ongoing spell immediately and use the energy of its dissipation to deflect an oncoming attack. The spell ends and you subtract its level from the damage done to you.”

    This seems to point at “just a single spell”, however I’m curious about the way Sage LaTorra and Adam Koebel play this one.

  5. I’m feeling more and more confident that there isn’t any problem with ending multiple spells at the same time to avoid even more damage.

    Also, I think there was a post about the “am I my own ally?” question…but I can’t remember what the outcome was.


Comments are closed.