Hail everybody.

Hail everybody.

Hail everybody. Quick question for you all (men, I can’t find an official answer in the rules, so I’d like your point of view).

Discern realities. When you get the +1 bonus, with a successful roll:

– only the player who rolled can get the +1.

– the whole party can benefit the +1: however, only the first character that act, can get the bonus for the first roll).

– the whole party can benefit the +1: however, every character can get the +1 only for the first roll. 

PS: Random picture to catch your eyes! 😀


13 thoughts on “Hail everybody.”

  1. Understand it like this: 

    Either way, (you) take +1 forward when acting on the answers.

    Because the move is talking directly to you. If it would affect other characters it would directly say so. 

    And +1 forward means only to the next roll. 

    See the explanation here:

    ‘…Say “take +1 forward.” That means to take +1 to your next move roll (not damage). The bonus can be greater than +1, or even a penalty, like -1. There also might be a condition, such as “take +1 forward to hack and slash,” in which case the bonus applies only to the next time you roll hack and slash, not any other move.’

  2. I could see sharing your insight with someone else and transferring the +1 if it follows from the fiction.  A better approach might be to have that person narrate for the party as a whole so they are using their +1 but applying it to the fate of the whole group because they are in the spotlight.  DW is really robust to in-the-moment variations when they follow from the fiction, so you’re not going to break anything if you do what makes sense.

  3. passing what?! If you’re helping someone, even just by telling them something, then you roll aid/interfere. The one who rolled discern realities gets the +1, and anything that’s you helping an ally on one of their rolls is an aid/interfere roll (on which you may get the +1 from DR, if you’re acting on the answers).

  4. (this is a quick example to better explain our doubts)

    I see in our games this situation lot of times:

    – The party is in a location, tense situation, and a player tells “I’d like to look around, maybe there’s a trap/ambush”. So he rolls, and ask “Is there something hidden here?*”. Then the Master says “you see an hidden enemy lurking on the party, 20 paces away. What you do?”.

    At this point, the players tells “I warn my ranger friend”. And, obviously, now the ranger wants to quickly put an arrow down the enemy’s head.

    Here we have the doubt about the “discern reality” bonus.


    * sorry, I haven’t the english version of the rules here, so – I know – this isn’t the right wording

  5. I would think that the +1 Forward could go to the Aid roll that the character that spotted the hidden person could apply to the Volley that the Ranger is going to make…. or if they did something different that was acting on that information then it would apply to that.

    but that is it

  6. Andrea Parducci when the player says “I tell the ranger” you should ask “how exactly?”

    If the character just shouts “OOOORC!” then if the ranger fires an arrow it’s your run-of-the-mill volley, not even a called shot, and I don’t see why he should get the +1.

    If the character approaches the ranger and whispers “don’t turn around, but there’s an orc at my 6 lurking on us. On my three, I duck and you plant an arrow in his throat. Ready? One, two…. Three!” then that’s an awesome aid roll with a +1 from discern realities applied to a called shot roll by the ranger.

  7. Alessandro Gianni I understand your point, however this can be seen as too much mechanics in a game quite “narrative”. Spot the peril, getting the +1, rolling aid, then finally comes the main action, seems quite long (however you are following the fiction and triggering the right rules, so nothing wrong about that). Maybe just too “long”.

  8. The player decides how long does he want the thing to be. Shout “orc” and start firing, or having a dialogue and trigger some moves? It’s their choice! Also, rolling in DW occupies a barely noticeable time during a scene…

  9. Yeah, Alessandro, few time to roll, much more time to think interesting thing to make happen in the fiction, with 7-9 or fail result.

    Also in other situations. Ie. The spotter find a trapped floor, so he tells his friend the pattern to walk safe. If I play as you suggest, the spotter should aid his friends (the first with a +1)… And what is the ‘cost’ with a 7-9 roll? Not always easy/fast to find.

  10. That’s something that comes natural after you’ve played a bit. If you’re stuck, ask the players to help you! Point is: it’s not the numerical mechanics that occupy time in DW; it’s always about moving the fiction forward when you roll a move. So, the more you roll, the more the fiction evolves!

Comments are closed.