Spellcasting – no GM move on a miss?
So in play we were slightly confused by the wording of Cast Spell as it states “on 6-, mark XP, choose 1 from the list below, and then roll on the Arcane Accident table.” – does this imply the GM doesn’t get to make a move on a miss? (It did to us) If so this undermines the magic principle in the main rules which states “As a rule of thumb, keep in mind that when a spell or invocation goes wrong, its repercussions should be in proportion to the intended effect.” (nice IMO!). The removal of a GM move and its replacement with the Arcane Accident table reduces GM authority and ability to inflict this proportional misfire as the AA table includes some results that are explicitly proportionate and some which are not/are weak.
If there is a GM move as well as the AA roll then maybe players could justifiably feel put upon for 3 bad things happening from one roll? (pick from list, AA table + GM move)