So, a question about Back Stab. From the rulebook:
When you attack a surprised or defenseless enemy with a melee
weapon, you can choose to deal your damage or roll+DEX. ✴On a
10+ choose two. ✴On a 7–9 choose one.
• You don’t get into melee with them
• You deal your damage+1d6
• You create an advantage, +1 forward to you or an ally acting on it
• Reduce their armor by 1 until they repair it
It says you can choose to deal damage or roll. That sounds like you might not end up dealing damage if you roll. Only on one of these options does it say you deal damage. If you roll a 7-9, is it assumed you deal your damage? Or do you have to choose option #2 to deal damage? Thanks!